The Order


How would the order look if I had to put the Five Monuments in order of preference. Whereas the one I enjoy the least is easy. So, with the top three being almost equal, here is my list. (below text Wiki)

  1. Tour of Flanders (Belgium) – also known as the “Ronde van Vlaanderen”, the first of the ‘Spring Classics’, is raced in early April. First held in 1913.

  2. Giro di Lombardia (Italy) – also known as the “Race of the Falling Leaves”, is held in October. Initially called the Milano–Milano in 1905, it became the Giro di Lombardia in 1907.

  3. Paris–Roubaix (France) – the “Queen of the Classics” or l’Enfer du Nord (“Hell of the North”) is traditionally one week after the Ronde van Vlaanderen, and was first raced in 1896.

  4. Liège–Bastogne–Liège (Belgium) – late April. La Doyenne, the oldest Classic, was first held in 1892 as an amateur event; a professional edition following in 1894.

  5. Milan – San Remo (Italy) – the first true Classic of the year, its Italian name is La Primavera (the spring), this race is held in late March. First run in 1907.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s